Matthew Jay Povich


Wiki source

In April 2001, Jay released his debut album Draw, from which three singles were taken: "Let Your Shoulder Fall", "Please Don't Send Me Away" and "Call My Name Out". Press soon drew comparisons between Jay and such musicians as Nick Drake, Elliott Smith, Jeff Buckley and David Gray. Whilst touring the album, Jay supported Doves, Starsailor, Lowgold, Stereophonics and Dido. Towards the end of the album touring cycle, Jay and his band debuted a new song, "Stars On The Floor". Other new songs that Jay had been working on and recorded with his band in December 2001 included "Bad Thing" and "All This Time". When commenting on new material, Jay stated that " I've got a band now and I want to be a bit more punk, a bit more Stonesy. You can't shut people up with an acoustic guitar". Later in 2002, the band debuted further new songs including "Closing the Factory Down", "The World Knows" and "Casual User". Jay only performed one gig in 2002, with members of his backing band engaging in their own projects. Drummer Matt Klose and bassist Garf toured with their own band Mova, whilst keyboardist Olli Cunningham toured with Lee Hazlewood. Two other planned appearances that year were cancelled at the last minute, due to "unforeseen circumstances".